DUI / DWI Lawyers --Drunk Driving Offenses in Calvert County and Southern Maryland
Drunk Driving Lawyers
We represent clients who are charged in “drunk driving” cases in both the District and Circuit Courts of Maryland. Those cases include driving under the influence or driving while impaired by alcohol, as well as driving while impaired by drugs or controlled dangerous substances.
If you are charged with a “DUI” or driving under the influence of alcohol, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. The maximum penalty for someone convicted of a first offense DUI is one year in jail and/or a $1000 fine, and 12 points on your license.
If you are charged with a “DWI” or driving while impaired by a alcohol, the State must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .04 or higher but less than .08. The maximum penalty for someone convicted of a first offense DWI is sixty days in jail and/or $500 fine, and 8 points on your license.
Enhanced penalties may apply for subsequent offenders.
You can also be charged for driving while impaired by drugs and/or alcohol or driving under the influence of a controlled dangerous substance. In these cases, the police will call in a certified drug recognition expert.
MVA Hearings/Ignition Interlock Devices
In addition to facing criminal penalties, a person charged with a DUI/DWI may also face administrative sanctions through the Motor Vehicle Administration. The MVA can suspend or revoke your license or require that you install the Ignition Interlock device in your vehicle.
There are time sensitive deadlines that must be met in order to obtain the appropriate relief from the MVA and to avoid a suspension or revocation of your license. Our attorneys can assist you in navigating the MVA process.
Contact us immediately to set up FREE CASE EVALUATION to discuss your DUI/DWI case.
Substance Abuse Treatment Programs
If you are charged with a drunk driving offense, we will often refer you to a substance abuse treatment program prior to your appearance in Court. As part of any sentence, most Judges will require that you complete a substance abuse program as a condition of your probation. It is important that your program be "State Certified" and that you comply with the rules of the program, including any aftercare recommendations. Below is a list of local substance abuse programs:
- Calvert County Health Department
- Courage To Change
- The Carol M. Porto Treatment Center
- Al-Anon Family Group